delta U


Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

Emily Orozco L4
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:29 am

delta U

Postby Emily Orozco L4 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:28 pm

How do we find delta U?

RasikaObla_4I
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:15 am

Re: delta U

Postby RasikaObla_4I » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:29 pm

Change in internal energy is equal to q(heat)+w(work).

Venus_Hagan 2L
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:16 am

Re: delta U

Postby Venus_Hagan 2L » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:29 pm

ΔU=q+w

Jacob Villar 2C
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:18 am

Re: delta U

Postby Jacob Villar 2C » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:34 pm

q + w = delta U

Jared_Yuge
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:17 am

Re: delta U

Postby Jared_Yuge » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:37 pm

If delta Volume is 0 then delta U = work

Jared_Yuge
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:17 am

Re: delta U

Postby Jared_Yuge » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:38 pm

if delta P is 0 (under constant pressure) then delta U = delta H - P deltaV

Nare Nazaryan 1F
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:17 am

Re: delta U

Postby Nare Nazaryan 1F » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:44 pm

Delta U= q (aka heat) + w (aka work).

Alexis Robles 2k
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:18 am

Re: delta U

Postby Alexis Robles 2k » Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:11 am

Delta u= q+w
q= heat
w=work

005162902
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:15 am

Re: delta U

Postby 005162902 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:11 pm

Delta U = q + w
q is heat
w is work
*the answer to this equation is typically given in Joules (J).

kristi le 2F
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:15 am

Re: delta U

Postby kristi le 2F » Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:26 pm

The equation delta U = q + w works because both heat and work are equivalent means of energy transfer.


Return to “Concepts & Calculations Using First Law of Thermodynamics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests