thermodynamically stable






Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

CNourian2H
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:16 am

thermodynamically stable

Postby CNourian2H » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:58 pm

what does it mean to b thermodynamically stable? how does this relate to gibbs free energy?

CNourian2H
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:16 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby CNourian2H » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:59 pm

i never saw this in our notes. will we be tested on this?

Giselle Littleton 1F
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:20 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby Giselle Littleton 1F » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:29 am

Thermodynamically stable means that the reaction is spontaneous. Thus, when △G is negative, it is thermodynamically stable.

Philomena 4F
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 12:16 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby Philomena 4F » Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:41 pm

If deltaGf < 0, the reaction is said to be favorable and thermodynamically stable.

SVajragiri_1C
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:16 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby SVajragiri_1C » Mon Feb 17, 2020 12:28 am

A reaction is thermodynamically stable when delta G (change in Gibbs free energy is less than 0). This usually means that delta H is negative and delta S is positive, but depending on the temperature of the reaction, it can be thermodynamically unstable or stable.

kausalya_1k
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:23 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby kausalya_1k » Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:55 pm

A reaction is thermodynamically stable if it's spontaneous (aka when deltaG<0)

saigorijavolu2k
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 12:15 am

Re: thermodynamically stable

Postby saigorijavolu2k » Mon Feb 17, 2020 10:25 pm

Thermodynamically stable is equivalent to a negative value for Gibbs. This also means that the rxn is favorable.


Return to “Gibbs Free Energy Concepts and Calculations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests