Hz vs. frequency


Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

Guzman_1J
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:16 am

Hz vs. frequency

Postby Guzman_1J » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:19 pm

Can someone explain the differences between hertz and frequency? From the book, they sound like the same thing but is hertz just the unit, so if we are asked for the frequency we have to answer in hertz or how exactly are they related?

Abhi Vempati 2H
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:17 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby Abhi Vempati 2H » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:22 pm

Hertz (or s-1) is simply the unit for frequency, just like the kilogram is the unit for mass. Every time it asks for the frequency, your response will be with the unit Hz (or MHz, GHz, etc).

CynthiaLy4F
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:16 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby CynthiaLy4F » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:54 pm

Hertz is just a unit for frequency. Frequency is usually expressed in Hertz (s^-1).

Rosa Munoz 2E
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:21 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby Rosa Munoz 2E » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:01 pm

Hertz is the unit for frequency.

kevinolvera1j
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:15 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby kevinolvera1j » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:15 pm

When dealing with frequency, the unit needed for equations is Hz(s^-1), also the name of the greek letter is nu, not "v" since that would be confused too easily with velocity

Donna Nguyen 2L
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:17 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby Donna Nguyen 2L » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:24 pm

Hertz is the unit for frequency. Hertz is also the same as (s^-1), so both units are interchangeable for frequency.

Caitlin Ciardelli 3E
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby Caitlin Ciardelli 3E » Mon Nov 11, 2019 12:47 am

Hz is also known as s^-1 and is simply the unit for frequency. So, if they ask you to find the frequency, your answer should be in Hz.

Kaitlyn Jang 1F
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:16 am

Re: Hz vs. frequency

Postby Kaitlyn Jang 1F » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:26 am

Hertz is just the unit for frequency. You can denote frequency using Hz or s^-1 because they are the same.


Return to “Properties of Light”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests