Low Grades & Graduate School

This forum topic is for students to self-organize study groups, etc.

Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

Emily Tieu 2K

Low Grades & Graduate School

Postby Emily Tieu 2K » Sun Mar 07, 2021 11:05 pm

I'm not pre-med but I am still planning on applying for a STEM graduate degree. However, this quarter has specifically been tough and it looks like I'll barely pass the class with a C. I'm a freshman and am wondering if it's best to retake this class or continue on to 14C and get a better grade in that course. Any advice helps, thanks! Or let me know if anyone else is in the same position and how you're dealing with it since it'd be nice to know I'm not alone. :)

Hannah Alltucker 3L

Re: Low Grades & Graduate School

Postby Hannah Alltucker 3L » Sun Mar 07, 2021 11:13 pm

I think that there is a cap on how low of a grade you need to be able to retake a class to replace a previous letter grade, so you may want to look into that just to be safe, and if you withdraw now it will be marked on your transcript (most grad programs don't want to see to many of those per application, but one or two probably won't be the end of you). Honestly, if its only one C I wouldn't stress over it too much as long as your other classes and quarter GPA's are relatively good, since they'll make up for it somewhat. If I were in your shoes, I would take the C and move on rather than needing to wait another quarter more, but thats also just my personality. If you're really determined, however, and don't want to see a C hurt your GPA plus are willing to redo the work for this class and hold off an extra quarter on your chemistry plans, its also a valid option but would require more work and time on your part. I don't know the extent of your situation, so the call is really up to you and how you want to handle your time and education going forward.

Chesca Legaspi 2E

Postby Chesca Legaspi 2E » Mon Mar 08, 2021 6:05 pm