4s vs. 3d

Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

josmit_1D
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:17 am

4s vs. 3d

Postby josmit_1D » Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:56 pm

can someone explain why the 3d orbital is of higher energy than the 4s?

Joanne Kang 3I
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:17 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby Joanne Kang 3I » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:05 pm

Lavelle actually said that after the 4s state/orbital is occupied and the electron enters the 3rd orbital, then the 3d state is lower in energy than 4s

Louise Lin 2B
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:15 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby Louise Lin 2B » Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:36 am

The 4s orbital actually has higher energy than the 3d orbital if the 4s orbital is occupied by electrons. So, when we write out the electron configurations, the 3d orbital goes before 4s!

805291863
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:16 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby 805291863 » Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:59 pm

The electron-electron repulsion within the 3d orbital cause it to have a higher energy than the 4s orbital

RobertXu_2J
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:17 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby RobertXu_2J » Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:33 pm

Strictly speaking, 3d is higher in energy than 4s only if there are no electrons in 3d. When the 3d starts filling up with electrons, the relative energies fluctuate and 4s ends up with a higher energy level as 3d becomes more filled.

Nare Arakelian Dis 3E
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:16 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby Nare Arakelian Dis 3E » Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:51 am

Why do electron-electron repulsions lead to 3d having higher energy?

Elizabeth Johnson 1I
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:16 am

Re: 4s vs. 3d

Postby Elizabeth Johnson 1I » Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:37 pm

isn't it all about the number in the front? I honestly don't know why but that's what my TA said in our section lol


Return to “Electron Configurations for Multi-Electron Atoms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests