Electronegativity

Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

Katie McCombs 3G
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:57 pm

Electronegativity

Postby Katie McCombs 3G » Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:39 pm

Does anyone know if we will be provided with a periodic table with electronegativity values for the quiz?

Alexandria_Leaf_2F
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:00 am

Re: Electronegativity

Postby Alexandria_Leaf_2F » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:14 am

No, there isn't any electronegativity values on the periodic table that we are provided with.

yuetao4k
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:27 am
Been upvoted: 1 time

Re: Electronegativity

Postby yuetao4k » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:03 pm

The periodic table that is provided is always the same, so you can refer to the past periodic tables that have been provided.

Catherine Daye 1L
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:16 am

Re: Electronegativity

Postby Catherine Daye 1L » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:32 pm

I don't think so, but it should be helpful to know that electronegativity increases the closer it is to fluorine since it's the element with the highest electronegativity.

Daniel Yu 1E
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:15 am

Re: Electronegativity

Postby Daniel Yu 1E » Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:22 pm

Electronegativity is affected by the amount of valence electrons and the amount of orbitals. The more orbitals there are, the farther the electrons are from the positive nucleus. And since elements want to exist in their ideal state, they want to get as close as the a filled outer shell. That means an atom like Fluorine would have very high electronegativity.


Return to “Electronegativity”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest