The D Orbital


Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

Ashvi_Luthra_4H
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:00 am

The D Orbital

Postby Ashvi_Luthra_4H » Fri Dec 07, 2018 3:56 pm

Once the d orbital is introduced, what kind of bond does it make?

Chem_Mod
Posts: 18400
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:53 pm
Has upvoted: 435 times

Re: The D Orbital

Postby Chem_Mod » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:23 pm

As it is an unhybridized orbital, you will often see it involved in pi bond formation.

KatherineValdez_4B
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:17 am

Re: The D Orbital

Postby KatherineValdez_4B » Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:51 pm

so when you reach a d-orbital does it go before or after the previous s-orbital?

Yiyang Jen Wang 4G
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:18 am

Re: The D Orbital

Postby Yiyang Jen Wang 4G » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:26 am

KatherineValdez_4B wrote:so when you reach a d-orbital does it go before or after the previous s-orbital?


I believe both dsp3 or sp3d are okay but sp3d is preferred?
Here is the answer:
viewtopic.php?t=1256

Ruth Glauber 1C
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:20 am

Re: The D Orbital

Postby Ruth Glauber 1C » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:37 am

I think pi bonds? Does anyone else have an explanation as to why?


Return to “Hybridization”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests