oxacids and carboxylic acids

Moderators: Chem_Mod, Chem_Admin

MariaJohn1D
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:01 am

oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby MariaJohn1D » Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:34 pm

What is the difference between oxoacids and carboxylic acids?

Chem_Mod
Posts: 17949
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:53 pm
Has upvoted: 406 times

Re: oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby Chem_Mod » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:35 pm

Carboxylic acids are a specific type of oxoacid. Oxoacids are any acid containing an acidic proton bound to an oxygen.

A carboxylic acid is usually written ending in COOH.

CH3COOH is a carboxylic acid and an oxoacid.

H2SO4 is an oxoacid but not a carboxylic acid.

Moris 1H
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:01 am

Re: oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby Moris 1H » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Would we just need to distinguish between them for the final?

Danny Elias Dis 1E
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:19 am

Re: oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby Danny Elias Dis 1E » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:23 pm

Are any carboxylic acids polyprotic?

Nicklas_Wright_1A
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:23 am

Re: oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby Nicklas_Wright_1A » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:52 am

I think it is probably possible for a carboxylic acid to be polyprotic. I don't see any reason why not.

Madelyn Romberg 3L
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:16 am

Re: oxacids and carboxylic acids

Postby Madelyn Romberg 3L » Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:15 pm

Carboxylic acids are common of organic chemistry whereas oxacids will appear in general chemistry (with metals)


Return to “Polyprotic Acids & Bases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest